Press "Enter" to skip to content

AirAsia MOVE drives tourism through ASEAN Explorer Pass

AirAsia MOVE and ASEAN Business and Advisory Council Officials at the launch of Asean Explorer Pass in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

MANILA – AirAsia MOVE (formerly known as AirAsia Superapp), a digital venture by Capital A Berhad continues to take large strides towards solidifying its position as an online travel agent (OTA) platform that champions and connects the ASEAN region.

On April 25, 2024, Capital A executive chairman Tan Sri Tony Fernandes, together with AirAsia MOVE CEO Nadia Omer, announced the collaboration with the ASEAN Business Advisory Council (ASEAN-BAC) to promote business and tourism opportunities within the ASEAN region through its flagship product, the ASEAN Explorer Pass. 

This ASEAN Explorer Pass initiative aims to simplify travel, and encourage the people of ASEAN to explore more destinations, know more about the rich culture, and try new experiences across the ASEAN member states where AirAsia flies. This strategic initiative hopes to boost the region’s tourism potential, foster deeper cultural exchanges, and contribute to economic growth.

It offers travelers a flexible and cost-effective way to explore multiple destinations within the ASEAN region through one platform, AirAsia MOVE. The pass is designed to encourage longer stays, multiple visits, and increased travel frequency.

The ASEAN Explorer Pass was officially launched by Dato Sri Tiong King Sing, Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture Malaysia, who is also the Chair of the ASEAN Tourism Ministers, Tan Sri Nazir Razak, Chairman of ASEAN-BAC Malaysia, Fernandes and Omer.

With the ASEAN Explorer Pass, subscribers will enjoy ZERO-base fares on international ASEAN flights provided by the AirAsia airline group, but also unlimited use of an exclusive promo code to provide up to 50% discounts on all hotel bookings throughout its inventory of over 900,000 hotels, as well as AirAsia ride perks.

From today until 30 April, the ASEAN Explorer Pass is on a special promo price of PHP13,488 and can be purchased on the AirAsia MOVE app. After 30 April, the pass will return to its original price of PHP 14,888

Fernandes commented, “For over two decades, Capital A’s aviation business, AirAsia, spearheaded connectivity in ASEAN by enabling people from all walks of life, especially from secondary and tertiary cities across the region to have access to affordable flights. To extend that further, AirAsia MOVE as an OTA has the capabilities to champion the cause of connecting ASEAN by facilitating a seamless travel experience and empowering travelers with options that cater to their needs right at their fingertips.” 

Data from previous travel passes sold by AirAsia MOVE in December 2022 clearly indicated that demand for travel within the ASEAN region is high, with over 80,000 international flights redeemed and flown in a year. As ASEAN continues to rise as a major hub for international trade & investment, enabling intra-ASEAN connectivity and accessibility to key travel necessities such as flights, hotels, and rides are crucial. Capital A, through AirAsia MOVE, is proud to enable more to explore the diverse landscapes of ASEAN, and help people go all the way.” 

Tan Sri Nazir Razak, Chairman ASEAN-BAC Malaysia added, “On behalf of ASEAN-BAC, I extend my heartfelt congratulations to AirAsia and AirAsia MOVE for this remarkable achievement. The launch of this pass is a testament to our collective vision of a borderless ASEAN, where barriers give way to bridges, flights, and the celebration of diversity as our greatest strength. ASEAN has greeted 100 million international tourists in 2023, which is 70% of pre-pandemic levels, and we are confident such efforts by AirAsia MOVE will move the needle in further stimulating travel, and spurring the economy of ASEAN.” 

Those who purchased the “ASEAN Pass’ in March 2024 will have their redemption validity extended until 6 May 2025, and be able to travel until 20 May 2025. Existing ASEAN Pass holders will see these changes take effect from 7 May 2024 onwards. 


Powered By ICTC/DRS