Press "Enter" to skip to content

No sinister plot

  • Deployment of SAF battalion a standard deployment: PRO XI


THE POLICE Regional Office XI assured there’s no political vendetta involved in the purging of 35 Davao City Police Office personnel and the deployment of additional Special Action Forces operatives to Southern Mindanao. 

Police Regional Office XI director Brig. Gen. Aligre Martinez said the arrival of the two battalions of the PNP-Special Action Force (PNP-SAF) was a regular deployment and not a political purge as reported.

In an interview, Martinez revealed that the PNP-SAF troops have been regularly deployed to Davao Region even before his assumption as regional director.

According to the official, this is a regular mandate of the elite police force to deploy troops in all areas of the country.

He also said that the deployment of the PNP-SAF has no connection with the relief of some station commanders and the DCPO director. The relief was a standard procedure since the relieved personnel were subjects of the ongoing investigation by the Regional Internal Affairs Service (RIAS). 

According to Martinez, the PNP leadership stands by its mandate, especially the PRO XI, to strictly enforce the law, prevent and control crimes, maintain peace and order, and ensure public safety and internal security with the active support of the community. 

“The PNP leadership, particularly Region XI, remains committed to upholding its mandate,” said Martinez. “This includes enforcing the law, preventing and controlling crime, maintaining peace and order, and ensuring public safety and internal security – all with the active support of the community.”

On Saturday, the PRO XI confirmed the relief of 35 Davao City Police Office (DCPO) personnel.

The list included city director Col. Richard Bad-ang, seven station commanders, five deputy commanders, and 23 Police Non-Commissioned Officers (PNCOs).

The eleven were: 

  • Lt Col Ronald Lao
  • Major Rosario Aguilar
  • Major Jimmy Evangelista
  • Major Jemuel Mamolang
  • Major Joenel Pederio
  • Major Noel Villahermosa
  • Captain Medardo Baleros Jr
  • Captain Ronnie Batingal
  • Captain Henry Calvo
  • Captain Marlon Donquilab
  • Captain Jefferson Escasinas

The following 11 officers will assume as officer-in-charge in their stead:

  • PMaj Manuel Christian Salgado – OIC Ecoland Police Station
  • PCapt Ferdinand B. Sonza – OIC Catigan-Eden Police Station
  • PCapt Julius A. Edpalina – OIC Tugbok Police Station
  • PCapt Francisco A. Catabas – OIC Toril Police Station
  • PCapt Ronaldo C. Henson – OIC Talomo Police Station
  • PCapt Rozalito L. Clapiz – OIC Sta. Ana Police Station
  • PMaj Bernie B. Suaga – OIC Chief of Davao City Drug Enforcement Unit

Martinez said they only complied with the RIAS’ recommendation to ensure an impartial investigation into the deaths of seven drug suspects during police operations conducted in Davao City between March 23 and 26.

All relieved officers have been reassigned to the PRO XI’s Regional Personnel Holding and Accounting Section (RPHAS).



Powered By ICTC/DRS