Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mindanao tourism stakeholders feted in ASEAN Green Awards

THE CITY of Iligan, Pearl Farm Beach Resort in the Island Garden City of Samal, Davao del Norte, and Palacio del Sur by Marcian Group of Zamboanga City join the rest of the Philippine cities and tourism stakeholders recognized at the 2024 ASEAN Tourism Standard Awards during the ASEAN Tourism Forum last January 26 in Vientiane, Laos PDR.

Iligan City in Lanao del Norte, together with Baguio in Benguet, and Tabuk in Kalinga, were cited as ASEAN Clean Tourist City Standard recipients for the Philippines. The award aims to provide ASEAN member countries with a tool that will improve the quality of tourism in their respective cities, increase their marketing competitiveness, improve the situation and livelihood of local residents, and most importantly, protect the environment by responding to the impacts of climate change and contributing to the sustainable development of ASEAN cities.

Tourism Promotions Board COO Marga Nograles receives the award for ASEAN Green Hotel Standard in behalf of Pearl Farm Beach Resort

Pearl Farm Beach Resort of ANFLO Resort Development Corporation bagged the 9th ASEAN Green Hotel Standard, along with Club Paradise Palawan, Bohol Beach Club, Seda Nuvali, and The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay. The Green Hotel Standard is awarded to hotels and resorts practicing sustainable tourism through eco-friendly principles, human resources development, resource efficiency, and local community involvement. 

Meanwhile, Palacio del Sur by Marcian Group (Marcian Garden Hotel) of Zamboanga City shared the 1st ASEAN MICE (Meetings Incentives Conferences and Events) Venue Standard Event Venue Category with JPark Island Resort and Water Park of Mactan, Cebu, Infinity Garden (Baguio Country Club), Sala Garden (Modern Asia, Inc), and CAP-Camp John Hay Trade and Cultural Center. The ASEAN MICE Venue Standard allows member states to have guidelines to make their property competitive and are able to collaborate in providing quality MICE venues to visitors, making ASEAN a competitive MICE region.

Department of Tourism Secretary Christina Garcia Frasco personally handed the awards to the Philippine recipients together with OIC-Undersecretary Verna C. Buensuceso, Undersecretary Shahlimar Hofer Tamano, and Assistant Secretary Rica Bueno.

ASEAN Secretary-General Dr. Kao Kim Hourn

ASEAN Secretary-General Dr. Kao Kim Hourn also delivered a congratulatory message during the ASEAN Tourism Awards ceremony. A total of 192 ASEAN Tourism Standards Awards were given to the member countries.


Powered By ICTC/DRS