Press "Enter" to skip to content

Military says 189 avail of absentee vote

ABOUT 189 personnel from Eastern Mindanao Command (EastMinCom) voted in a three-day local absentee voting in coordination with the Commission on Elections (Comelec) at the Naval Station Felix Apolinario (NSFA), Panacan, from April 27 to 29. 

Major Alex Mindalano, EastMinCom spokesperson, of those who cast their ballots, 55 were from EastMinCom headquarters, 77 from the Philippine Navy, and 57 from other AFP post and tenant inits. 

Photo courtesy of Eastern Mindanao Command

The personnel were part of 84,000 public and private employees all over the country who applied to vote ahead of the May 9 national and local polls. 

According to Comelec Resolution No. 10725 in its Rules and Regulations on LAV, those considered as local absentee voters are government officials and employees; members of the AFP and the Philippine National Police (PNP); as well as members of the media, media practitioners to include their technical and support staff who cannot cast their votes during the official polling schedule on the election day. 

During the three-day LAV, only the position of President, Vice-President, 12 Senators, and a Partylist were voted by the participating AFP personnel. 

EastMinCom chief LtGen. Greg Almerol said that the local absentee voting is an opportunity for the AFP troops deployed away from their local residences to exercise their right to suffrage. 

“Since we are deputized to secure the polling centers and conduct checkpoints in coordination with the PNP and COMELEC, the Local Absentee Voting will help the troops exercise their democratic rights before performing their role during the election day,” he said. 

“Now that our troops have already cast their votes, their focus now will be on ensuring a secure, accurate, free, and fair elections (SAFE) come May 9,” he added.

The EastMinCom’s local absentee voting was conducted by its Office of the Assistant Chief of Unified Command Staff for Personnel with direct supervision from the Comelec Election Officer in the city.



Powered By ICTC/DRS