Press "Enter" to skip to content

DLPC launches new 150-MVA digital substation

THE DAVAO Light and Power Company (DLPC) inaugurated its new 150 megavolt-amperes (MVA) digital substation along J.P. Laurel Avenue, on Apr. 29, to ensure power reliability further and secure enough load to cater to the city’s ever-growing-population.

Known as ERA Substation, this vital structure powers parts of the city’s residential, commercial, and industrial area, generating an upgraded capacity of 300 MVA.

Rodger S. Velasco, DLPC president and chief operating officer, said the energy demand increased with the growth in customer base, so they need to expand Davao Light’s capacity accordingly. 

“Over the last five years, the company has maintained an average growth rate of 3.48%. As of March this year, Davao Light registered almost 486,000 customers,” Velasco said. 

According to DLPC, substations and lines are considered to be the backbone of the power distribution network, as it ensures power delivery to every home, business, and industry. 

ERA substations refer to the first of two 138 kV/69 kV sub-transmission substations of Davao Light. It transforms electricity from 138 kV/69 kV or sub-transmission level voltage to supply the 69 kV/13.8 kV substations. 

The substations further decrease the voltage for distribution transformers, energizing end-users such as homes and businesses.

“When there are scheduled or emergency outages, ERA Substation can help carry electrical loads from other substations to prevent long power interruptions. It has real-time control and protection, improving the service availability and reliability in the areas it serves,” DLPC added.

DLPC initiated the upgrade of the project in 2019 and installed the second 150 MVA transformer in 2022. The project was energized last December 2023 and was completely loaded on January 7, 2024. 

Davao Light, an AboitizPower subsidiary, through the advancement of its processes and technologies, continuously hands out solutions for the development of the communities in its franchise area covering the cities of Davao, Panabo, and the municipalities of Carmen, Dujali, and Sto. Tomas.


Photo from Davao Light and Power Company


Powered By ICTC/DRS