Press "Enter" to skip to content

City gives P1.5-M to 5 quake damaged towns

The city will give P1.5 million to five neighboring towns that were badly hit by the Oct. 16 earthquake.

With the endorsement of the committee on finance, ways & means and appropriations, the city council yesterday approved the financial assistance during the suspended rules of the regular session.

Based on the data from the City Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office (CDRRMO), each town – Tulunan and Makilala in North Cotabato and Bansalan, Magsaysay, and Matanao in Davao del Sur – will receive P300,000 as an assistance.

The five towns are now declared under the state of calamity due to the damaged they sustained when a magnitude 6.3 earthquake hit Tulunan, North Cotabato that was felt in most parts of the island last Wednesday.

The National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) reported that at least six persons were killed and more than 90 were injured during the quake.

According to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs), the aftershocks from the said earthquake have reached to more than 800 as of yesterday.

Based on the CDRRMO data, the 30% Quick Response Fund (QRF) of the city’s Calamity Fund for 2019 has a remaining available balance of P52,065, 627.

The city has already utilized P78.9 million of the QRF from the total P130,965,672 budget for this year.

“This amount of available QRF is still very sufficient especially that we are nearing the end of the year. We might even expect a surplus from this budget,” said CDRRMO chief Alfredo Baloran.


Powered By ICTC/DRS