Press "Enter" to skip to content

Balcita wins net crown in RPVGCC Monthly Medal

Davao City – Rifleman Ronni Balcita took his performance to another level, not at the shooting range, but this time at one of the city’s fabled golf courses.

Ronnie Balcita on his second shot at the Rancho Palos Verdes Golf and Country Club fairways. (photo by Tommy Inigo)

The 27-handicapper and a member of Team Davao and Team Philippines Shooting Club stormed the fairway scoring a three-under 69 to emerge as the Class D net champion in the recent Rancho Palos Verdes Golf and Country Club Monthly Medal tournament last weekend.

“I just started playing golf when the gun ban took off this year,” Balcita said adding that he was just invited to play golf by his other shooting buddies but then loved the sport and then practiced on a regular basis.

“It’s my first time to join the monthly medal, luckily I won,” he added.

Balcita who is ranked no. 1 in the rifle division is a member of Team Davao and Team Philippines which will be seeing action in the coming World Shoot Competition to be held in Sweden this August 1 to 10. He will be joined by other Davaoenos Reynaldo Qualing, Jeremy Roperos, Eric Saldan and Nolan Elso who will banner the country’s hopes in the 35-stage Level 5 tournament.
Joining Balcita in the winner’s podium for Class D are BB Boy Canusa 90 (gross champion), Chris Babol 96 (gross r-up) and George Omelio 71 (net r-up).


On the other hand, Philippine Airlines Interclub campaigner Addy Briones won the Monthly Medal’s over all gross crown on a one-over 73 while Eugene Chiong bagged the overall net title with 66.

Other winner saw Class A – Jing Tan 74 (gross champion), Kim Il Gyu 77 (gross r-up), Albert Cainghug 70 (net champion) and Jerico Bajo 74 (net r-up). In Class B they are Wendell Adlao 81 (gross champion), Reinz Yamyamin 84 (gross r-up), Mayong Pillerin 71 (net champion), Hong Ipyo 71 (net r-up) while Archie Moralison 86 (gross champion), Boyet Sonico 90 (gross r-up), Arnold Navales 68 (net champion) and Bob Lacaya 74 (net runner-up) were winners in Class C.

The rest of the winners were Riley Veloso 127 ( jungolf 11 years-old below), Paolo Alejo 82 (jungolf 12-17 years-old champion), Jessie Tan Jr 85 (jungolf 12-17 years-old runner-up), Sonny Leobosada 79 (guest division 1 gross champion), Allan Rubrica 85 (guest division 1 gross r-up), Paterno Morales 70 (guest division 1 net champion), Baek Min Suk 76 (guest division 1 net r-up), Marlon Tabanao 80 (guest division 2 gross champion), Jan Barraquias 83 (guest division 2 gross r-up), John Boerio 64 (guest division 2 net champion), Jun Caiman 65 (guest division 2 net r-up), Milou Babol 90 (Ladies division gross champion), Christine Canusa 88 (Ladies division net champion), Boy Tan 76 (Seniors division gross champion), Tamio Sakurai 80 (Seniors division gross r-up), Philip Hazlewood 68 (Seniors division net champion), Hermie Martin 69 (Seniors division net r-up), Toshio Sugiyama (Super Seniors division gross champion) and Susumo Ohnari (Super Seniors division net champion).


Powered By ICTC/DRS