Press "Enter" to skip to content

Awards for promoting PH-China Understanding now open for nominees



THE ASSOCIATION for Philippines-China Understanding (APCU) is calling for nominees for the 2024 Awards for Promoting Philippines-China Understanding (APPCU). 

During the Kapehan sa Dabaw on April 1, APCU co-chair Peter Tiu Laviña said nominations for the fourth year of APPCU are accepted only until April 15. 

Laviña added that nominees may come from all sectors including academia, business, arts, media, and government who have played pivotal roles in strengthening bilateral ties between the country and China.

Peter Tiu Laviña

 However, nominations of current APCU officials and incumbent public officials are disqualified. 

The selection criteria emphasized the impact of the nominee’s commitment to promoting mutual understanding and enhancing relations between the two nations using their fields of discipline and areas of expertise. 

The awards comprise three categories: Hall of Fame, Outstanding Contributions, and Major Contributions. 

Nomination forms and guidelines are available on the official APCU website. The awardees will be formally recognized in an awarding ceremony on June 7, at the Centennial Hall, Manila Hotel. 

Former President Rodrigo Duterte and Carlos Chan were awarded APPCU 2023 Hall of Fame; Rigoberto Tiglao and Jaime T. Cruz were the Outstanding Awardees; while Jose Ong Tajan and Ma. Regina Rosa Tecson was recognized as a Major Awardee.


Powered By ICTC/DRS