Press "Enter" to skip to content

All Dutertes

  • January Duterte to return to City Council as ABC representative


REELECTED Catalunan Grande barangay captain January Duterte is poised to return to the City Council after running unopposed and being declared the winner of the Liga ng mga Barangays (Association of Barangay Councils) in Davao City. 

January Duterte is the wife of First District Rep. Paolo Duterte and sister-in-law of Mayor Sebastian Duterte. 

She served as the ABC president for four years and was the sectoral representative to the City Council from 2014-2018 during Rep. Paolo Duterte’s stint as the vice mayor.

Paolo Duterte’s son, Omar, is the present Buhangin Proper chair after he ran unopposed in the recent elections at the end of October.

Meanwhile, Sara Duterte is the second-highest official in the country and the concurrent Department of Education secretary. 

January Duterte took her oath of office along with the new set of officers in a ceremony officiated by Mayor Sebastian Duterte during the General Membership and Election meeting on Monday, Dec. 11, at the Royal Mandaya Hotel.

She said her initial personal mandate as the new president is to prioritize the school needs and minimize the financial burden of the indigent students, in line with her current program in the barangay, which at present helps 76 kids.

“Usually the problem of the kids who cannot go to school lies in their lack of transportation money due to financial incapacity, so I wanted to help them through the free ride program,” Duterte said during a sideline interview.

When asked for particular projects in mind, she said she has to meet with the newly elected set of officers first.

The new set of officers for the league of barangays are as follows:

  • Carlos Garcia ( Barangay 2-A) was elected as LNB vice president,
  • Jessiemar Culaste (Barangay Dumoy) was elected as auditor, 
  • Lilibeth Al-ag  (Barangay Toril Proper) as board of director, 
  • Fidelo Almirante  ( Brgy. 30-C) as board of director, 
  • Jessielito Areja (Barangay Malabog) as board of director, 
  • Pacito Cañete Jr.  (Barangay Ma-a) as board of director, 
  • Edwin Fiel (Barangay Bantol) as board of director,  
  • Arnel Liong  (Barangay Malagos) as board of director, 
  • Merjade Calvo  (Barangay Tibungco) as board of director.

Mayor Sebastian Duterte, who administered the oath of office, urged the new set of officers and barangay captains to coordinate with the new officials for a more unified and inclusive decision-making.

“We encourage you to be proactive and further develop your areas in line with the city’s development programs,” Mayor Duterte added.



Powered By ICTC/DRS