Press "Enter" to skip to content

48 motorists get tickets for violating new speed limits

THE TRAFFIC Enforcement Unit issued 48 citation tickets to individuals who violated the new speed limit ordinance effective Thursday, Jan. 11.

Around 9:12 a.m., personnel of the TEU led by its chief Major Dexter Domingo and deputy chief Capt Raymundo Bacera Jr., conducted a pre-deployment briefing before proceeding to the streets to implement City Ordinance 0270-23 (Speed Limit Ordinance of Davao City).

TEU personnel camped along Quimpo Boulevard and the Davao City Coastal Road and apprehended 48 motorists before ending the operation around noon.

The Ordinance mandates an 80 kph speed limit for light vehicles and 50 kph for trucks passing through Bunawan-Lasang, Lacson-Buda, and Carabao Monument in Toril-Binugao in Sta Cruz; a 60 kph speed limit for major roads such as from Ulas Crossing to Carabao Monument Waypark, Crossing Panacan-Bunawan Crossing, and within the Davao City Coastal Road; and 30 kph for all feeder/minor roads branching out of these major roads. 

Tourist streets will have a 40 kph limit, and 30 kph for trucks while a speed limit of 20 kph shall be followed in all public subdivision roads, barangay roads, and school zones.

The CTTMO Chief reminded motorists that the penalties for violators of the new speed limit are now P1,000 for the first offense, P2,000 for the second, and P5,000 for the third and subsequent offenses.


Powered By ICTC/DRS