Press "Enter" to skip to content

6 NPA units declared dismantled

The Eastern Mindanao Command (EastMinCom) has reported the dismantling of another six units of the New People’s Army under its operational area.

Lt. Gen. Greg T. Almerol, commander of the unit, said those dismantled were the Regional Sentro de Grabidad, Regional Operational Command, Southern Mindanao Regional Committee (SMRC) ; Sub-Regional Committees (SRC) 1, 2, 4, and 5, under SMRC; and SRC 4 of North Central Mindanao Regional Committee (NCMRC). These units were operating either in Davao Region or in Bukidnon.

This developed as the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) has encouraged the remaining members of the insurgent group to surrender in time for Christmas.

“We pray that the insurgents will also be allowed to go to their families and think about their future. We hope that comes New Year, their resolution will be to abandon armed struggle and all forms of violence that destroy human lives and properties,” said Col. Medel Aguilar, AFP spokesperson.

Almerol said the rebel units were declared dismantled through a Joint Peace and Security Coordinating Council (JPSCC) Resolution approved and signed by Armed Forces of the Philippines Chief of Staff Bartolome Vicente O. Bacarro and Philippine National Police Chief Rodolfo S. Azurin Jr., on Dec. 6.

He added the declaration was based on the “neutralization” of the leadership of the movement, the absence of the community support, and the validation activities conducted by both the military and police units.

“Since the declaration of the Davao Region as `insurgency-free,’ EastMinCom has not monitored any extortion activities, harassment, and other atrocities by the CTG (communist terrorist group), including their presence in the area,” said Almerol.

On October 27 with President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr as guest, the Davao Region was declared “insurgency-free.” 



Powered By ICTC/DRS