Visit page
Press "Enter" to skip to content

UM Wildcats named overall champion in Davao City Athletics Open 2023



UNIVERSITY of Mindanao’s track and field team capped its 38th Kadayawan sa Dabaw-Davao City Athletics Open campaign by being adjudged as the overall champions in both senior men’s and women’s categories held on Aug. 26 and 27, 2023, at the University of Mindanao Sports Complex. 

The Wildcats brought home five gold, three silver, and one bronze medal in the senior men’s category, and ten gold, six silver, and one bronze medal in the senior women’s category for a 26-medal haul to finish on top of the leaderboard.

The two-day track fest organized by the Davao City Track and Field Association (DCTFA) drew 489 athletes from 14 to 16 years old and 17 above categories who competed in 16 track and field events.

Meanwhile, UM Main’s Adrean Cabacang and Andrea De Guia led the Wildcats during the athletics open as they took home the hard-earned Most Valuable Player plums in their respective categories.

Cabacang completed a dominant run in the men’s 100m dash, clocking in at 11.38 seconds, and the 200m dash at 23.22 seconds, while De Guia also pushed hard for gold in the women’s 400m and 800m dash, posting 1:02.59 and 2:28.57 minute records, respectively.

Both Cabacang and De Guia, along with Johnny Gil Meder and Angeline Reponte, combined for 3:51.25 minutes en route to the gold in the 4x400m mixed relay final, while Spectrum Runners Mindanao chapter finished second (4:04.73), followed by Hagonoy DavSur Aces in third (4:15.81).

In the throwing events, Lynbert Pili of UM Main bagged the gold in the men’s Javelin Throw, lodging a distance of 51.22 meters in the final, joined at the podium by John Kervy Dianito (51.13m) and Ivan Adrias (50.56m), who clinched silver and bronze medals, respectively.

UM Main’s Sofia Jean Bangunan also produced an 8.86 meters throw to top the women’s shot put, while UM Tagum’s Apple Lagoy took the silver with 8.54m, and Jerlyn Crismundo of UM Main took the bronze with 8.40m.

In the long jump event, Bernadette Mendiola had the gold medal within her grasp after a 5.39m leap as she overpowered UM Tagum’s Hazel Arellano (5.10m) and fellow Wildcat Shairadhell Matillosa (4.85m).

Back on the track, Angeline Reponte of UM Main posted a 28.13-second record to clinch the gold in the women’s 200m over Irich Pacamalan (28.36) and Hazel Guibone of UM Tagum (28.87).

Finally, UM Wildcats’ Lyka Catubig dominated the women’s 3000m, clocking in at 11:24.06, contributing a gold to their medal haul, while Kate Mcdowell of UM Main, who timed at 11:51.66, had a silver finish, with Philippine Air Force’s Catherine Ponpon taking bronze at 12:03.95.

This successful campaign by the Wildcats follows their dominant showing in the 86th Araw ng Davao Athletics Festival last March 18 and 19, where they also clinched the overall team title in the seniors category.


Powered By ICTC/DRS
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com