fbpx Press "Enter" to skip to content

September was a devastating month for CTG – EastMinCom

THE EASTERN Mindanao Command (EastMinCom) said that the communist terrorist group’s (CTG) leadership in its joint operational area is now at a critical decline following the neutralization of various top-ranking leaders and the collapse of another guerilla front in September.

EastMinCom chief LtGen. Greg T. Almerol reported that a total of 45 CTG members, including high-value individuals, surrendered, were arrested, captured, and killed during the said period by the different units under Joint Task Force (JTF) Agila and JTF Diamond. 

Photo courtesy of EastMinCom

They have also recovered 40 firearms of various calibers and three anti-personnel mines.

Among those killed in legitimate operations were Noel “Megan” Alacre, commanding officer (CO) of Platoon 2, Guerrilla Front 30 (GF30), North Eastern Mindanao Regional Committee (NEMRC); Rolando Rubilla “Edroy” Leyson Jr., secretary of GF16, NEMRC; Vincent Isagani “John” Madlos, head of National Technical Bureau, CPP-NPA National Operations Command (NOC); and Angie “Edna” Salinas, secretary of National Communications Bureau, CPP-NPA NOC.

EastMinCom troops, in collaboration with other law enforcement agencies, also captured Nenita “Akira” Dolera, the secretary of GF19. Meanwhile, Badong “Reymund” Lipanda, CO of Platoon Banglas, Sub-Regional Committee 3 (SRC), North Central Mindanao Regional Committee (NCMRC) and Raquel “Pons” Dahoyla, secretary of SRC5, NCMRC yielded with their comrades.

On the other hand, EastMinCom approved the dismantling of GF18 during an Area-Clearing and Validation Committee (ACVC) meeting on September 15, after troops under 10ID’s 701st Brigade neutralized its remaining members and recovered high-powered firearms with assorted ammunition, including subversive documents and war materiel during a series of clashes at Barangay Mahayahay, Lupon and Barangay San Vicente, Banaybanay in Davao Oriental on Sept. 11 and 13.

Subsequently, the Davao Oriental Province, headed by Governor Corazon N. Malanyaon, declared the said province “insurgency-free” during the Provincial Peace and Order Council (PPOC) meeting at Mati City on September 19.

Almerol said that GF18 was the last guerrilla unit in the Davao Region, which has weakened since November 2021 following the surrender of its front secretary and commanding officer, identified as Jocy V. Papasin and Gilbert G. Colita, respectively.

“With the total collapse of GF18 and other CTG instrumentalities in Davao Region, we can now recommend its declaration as ‘insurgency-free’ in the coming days. We congratulate all local government units, our ground forces, and other significant stakeholders for their robust synergy that put the CTG in the area at the brink of extinction,” the EastMinCom commander said.

Meanwhile, Almerol also eyed the dismantling of other CTG units in Northern Mindanao and the Caraga Region following the series of neutralization of its top-ranking leaders and the capture of its remaining war materiel.

Since 2017, the Command has dismantled 28 out of 33 guerilla fronts in its joint operational area, leaving five guerilla units, with one in Region 12 and four in Region 13.


Share this post:

Powered By ICTC/DRS
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)