fbpx Press "Enter" to skip to content

SKC Sports Awards holds 26th edition

The annual So Kim Cheng Sports Awards, now on its 26th year reels off via zoom on July 22 and 23.

Dubbed as the city’s longest running local sports awards to date, it feats city-based upcoming athletes’ national and international performances as deliberated by the Davao City Sports Council Incorporated and their NSA-members.

“In light of city ordinance for mass gathering, we have decided to limit the number of people in this year’s awards,” said John Irene del Campo of the So Kim Cheng Sports Foundation Incorporated.

“For this year, the ceremony will be split into two days with different sports events to be awarded per day,” Davao City Sports Council Incorporated public relations officer Jerson Tamayo added.

For July 22, Wednesday, events such as arnis, duckpin, karatedo, volleyball, Philspada and tenpin bowling plus the major awards – the Male and Female Athletes of the Year, Coach of the Year,  Sports Leadership and Lifetime Achievement will be given while on July 23, Thursday it will be for chess, wushu, badminton, muay thai, rugby, archery, motocross and athletics.

Robert Lawrence Avacena of karatedo and Sherhalee Bulaso of arnis are this year’s Male and Female co-Athletes of the Year while Jeofrey Albarico of karate is named Coach of the Year. Jerson Tamayo of duckpin bowling and karatedo will receive the Sports Leadership Award which will complete the major list of awardees.

This year’s list of awardees are Kristine Ibag and Arnold Rojas (archery); John Lloyd Calubag, Ayesha Tomakin, Jollah Baruiz, Jezebel Morcillo, Julia Zarate, Clifford Anajao, Nino Jay Barena, Adelfa Sagne and Liezl Dimangadap (arnis); Nick Conrad Arendain, Karylle Kaye Molina, Jethra Diaz (badminton), John Marvin Miciano, Samantha Umayan (chess), Arnel Crudo, team DACIBA Homer (duckpin bowling), Stephen James Cartagena, Jaime Daniella Nirza, Aldren Solon, Robert Bryan Dayanan Jr., Vryzyse Edelweiss Krebs, Jet Lu (karatedo); Rhowell Matias Mangosong IV, Princess Angelyca Calamongay, Jerome Lagrada (motocross), Neil Ivan Udarbe, Johanna Jejel Barbero, Isolde Aoife Hernani (muay thai), Arvie John Arreglado, James Infiesto, Marzel Burgos (Philspada), Klaint Harvey Buynay, Jae Heart Escultura, Agot Danton, Davao Young Lady Durians, Davao Juniors Durians (rugby), Ivan Awid, Crystal Chaves, Ralph Martin (tenpin bowling); Dux Euan Yambao, Athenna Bea Maneja, team Davao City Batang Pinoy, Khalia Sinsuat, April Joy Locaberte, Dinri Yambao, Cristy Balbon (volleyball); Mikko Camingawan Jahaziel Care Barbero (wushu).

The So Kim Cheng Sports Awards is held annually in celebration of the late local sports patron’s natal day.

Share this post:

Powered By ICTC/DRS
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)