fbpx Press "Enter" to skip to content

12 NPAs, 6 MB supporters surrender during holidays

Twelve New People’s Army rebels and six Militiang Bayan (MB) surrendered to different units of the Eastern Mindanao (EastMinCom) from Dec. 23-26.

Three communist rebels in San Fernado Bukidnon surrendered to local officials, tribal leaders, and business leaders in Matupi, San Fernando, Bukidnon.

Lt. Col. Ezra Balagtey, the spokesperson of EastMinCom, said they were turned over to the 88th Infantry Battalion for custodial debriefing.

The local negotiating team identified the surrenderees as, alias Sam known to be a team leader of a vertical unit in Bukidnon, along with his wife; alias En-En, a supply officer, and alias Danny, another team leader of the same vertical unit.

On the other hand, six MB members from Sitio Tambo, Barangay Binicalan San Luis, Agusan del Sur, surrendered to the 26th Infantry Battalion, San Luis Police Station, and Municipal Task Force-ELCAC San Luis at late afternoon on Dec. 23.

Balagtey said an NPA medic in Panabo City identified as Angel surrendered through the initiative of Davao del Norte Representative Allan Dujali and Governor Edwin Jubahib.

In New Bataan, Davao De Oro, a member of an organizing committee in Davao City identified as alias Bobby brought his 9mm pistol when he surrendered to 66th Infantry Battalion on the morning of Dec. 25.

The next day, three NPA rebels surrendered to local officials in Bislig, Surigao Del Sur to the 75th Infantry Battalion. They were identified as alias EJ, a political guide; alias Azad, and alias Mylyn. They also handed over two AK-47 rifles and one M16A1 rifle.

In a separate instance on Dec. 26, four other NPA rebels yielded to the joint elements of the Davao Sur Police Office and 39th Infantry Battalion in Sitio Mainit, Barangay Sibulan, Sta Cruz, Davao Del Sur.

They were identified as alias Abeth, a medical staff previously being monitored in the said area; aliases Jhazen, Rambo, and Goco, all elements of the same group. They brought with them one M14 rifle, an M1 Garand rifle, and one M16 rifle.

Meanwhile, Lt. Gen. Felimon T. Santos Jr., commander of EastMinCom, attributed the series of surrender to the effectiveness of the local peace Initiatives of the different local government units.

“We hope that the academe, the religious sector, and other members of the community will channel their initiatives and support these peace endeavors of the different LGUs so that we can all together work for a peaceful environment,” Santos said.

Share this post:
Tweet 20

Powered By ICTC/DRS
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)