fbpx Press "Enter" to skip to content

241 ex-rebels benefit from E-Clip program

The Task Force Balik Loob awarded the Enhance Comprehensive Localized Integration Program (E-Clip) to 241 former rebels who comprise the first batch of beneficiaries in a ceremony at the Provincial Happy Home of Davao Oriental in Don Martin Marundan, Mati City in Davao Oriental on Wednesday.

The task force is headed by Undersecretary Reynaldo Mapagu of the Department of National Defense and is an offshoot of the Administrative Order No. 10 signed by President Rodrigo Duterte on Apr. 10, 2018, converging the comprehensive localized integration program of DILG and programs of interventions of different government agencies for former rebels.

Maj. Ezra Balagtey, the spokesperson of Eastern Mindanao Command (EastMinCom), said the E-Clip was piloted by the 701st Infantry Brigade under Brig. Gen. Reuben Basiao by converging existing program of the Davao Oriental provincial government.

The Happy Home in Davao Oriental is the only facility in the whole country which houses and caters to former rebels undergoing rehabilitation and training in preparation of their reintegration to the mainstream society.
It was fully operationalized during the time of Lt. Gen. Benjamin Madrigal when he was the brigade commander of 701st Brigade.

As of July 11, 2018, 45 of 241 Former rebels have already received a National Certification II from the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (Tesda) after finishing the skill development training (carpentry, welding and massage therapist) intended for them.

The 241 returnees enrolled in the Department of Labor and Employment (Dole) livelihood program. Other interventions may include PhilHealth enrollment, housing, legal assistance and other social intervention.
The awarding ceremony was graced by Mapagu as head of Task Force Balik Loob; Assistant Secretary Manuel Felix of DILG; USec. Ronald Flores of OPAPP; USec. Luz Ilagan of DSWD; commander of Eastern Mindanao Command, Lt. Gen. Benjamin R. Madrigal Jr.; Maj. Gen. Glenn Paje representing the AFP Chief of Staff; and Maj. Gen. Noel Clement of 10th Infantry Division.

Yesterday, around 12 former rebels from Sarangani Province was also awarded with E-CLIP in a ceremony at the Provincial Capitol of Sarangani Province in Alabel.

The ceremony will be led by USec. Mapagu and Governor Steve Solon of Sarangani Province. They are being assisted by Brig. Gen. Roberto Ancan, commander of 1002nd Infantry Brigade, who facilitated the enrollment of former rebels to the E-CLIP.

On Wednesday’s AFP-PNP press briefing held at Royal Mandaya hotel, Maj. Ezra Balagtey said there are already 554 regular NPA s surrendered, 867 members of the Militia ng Bayan and underground mass organizations who withdrew their support from the NPA.

On the other hand, Lt. Col Raymund Dante Lachica, outgoing commander of 3rd Infantry Battalion, said the local government is very supportive as Davao City donated P5 million for the halfway house or Bahay Kalinaw that will be constructed in the headquarters of 1003rd Infantry Brigade in Barangay Mahayag.

The Bahay Kalinaw will cater to the needs of the rebel returnees like processing of documents, e-book, CLIP and other training that will be conducted.

Share this post:

Powered By ICTC/DRS
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)